Club History

Club History

Hucknall Town FC is a family friendly Community Football Club established in 1943 as Hucknall Colliery Welfare FC. The Club changed its name to Hucknall Town in 1987. From 1999 to 2004 we played in the Northern Premier League Premier Division, finishing Champions in 2003-04. However, as our Watnall Road stadium didn’t meet the then standards of the Football Conference, we were refused promotion to the Conference National Division. In 2005-06 we reached the Final of the FA Trophy losing 6 - 5 on penalties to Grays Athletic at the end of extra time following a 1-1 draw at full-time.

The Club was relegated at the end of the 2008-09 season and a further relegation following at the end of 2010-11, saw us drop into the NPL Division One South.

Further financial problems saw us relegated again, two levels in 2012-13 to the
Central Midlands Football League Division South. In 2014-15 we won the CMFL
League Cup. After several years of financial difficulty, which have now been
overcome with extremely hard work and commitment and with work commencing on our new stadium, there is much optimism for the future.

In the 2018/19 season the Club celebrated its 75th anniversary finishing as Champions of the Central Midlands League Division South and we were promoted to the step 6 East Midlands Counties League Premier to start our rise back up the football pyramid.

After two seasons seriously affected by the Covid-19 pandemic, 2019-20 & 2020-
21 and with the EMCL ceasing to exist, Town moved into the United Counties
League Division One for the start of the 2021-22 season.
Northern Premier League:- Premiership Champions 2003-04
Chairman’s Cup Winners:- 2002-03
FA Trophy Runners Up 2005-06
Northern Counties East League:- Premier Division Champions 1997-98
League Cup Winners 1993-94, 1996-97, 1997-98
President’s Cup Winners 1996-97
Nottingham Alliance Senior Division Champions 1976-77, 1977-78, 1987-88,
Division One Champions 1972-73, 1980-81, 1986-87
Division Two Champions 1970-71
Intermediate Cup Winners 1972-73, 1978-79, 1979-80, 1980-81, 1983-84
League Winners 1978-79
Central Midlands League Supreme Division Champions 1989-90, 1990-91
Central Midlands Football League Division South Champions 2018-19
Central Midlands League Cup Winners 1989-90, 1990-91, 1991-92, 2014-15,
Runners Up 2016-17, 2018-19